M i n i B i o

Semblance 

B.A in Information Design by the Universidad de las Américas Puebla (UDLAP), with a master’s degree by Universidad Politécnica de Valencia (UPV) where she focused her studies on Human-Centered Design. In addition, she had the opportunity to take international design courses in Stanford, IED Barcelona, and Boisbuchet.

During her professional career, she has collaborated in different fields that have allowed her to expand her work experience: Alfalfa Studio in New York, Citric Grafico in Mexico, Luidia in California and recently in Cocolab, where she works as an interaction designer.

Simultaneously she has made independent works at Designapan, her personal studio, where she creates experimental design proposals such as Conciencitas (which participated in MoMA Store: Destination Mexico) or the chair “Me siento como en México” that was part of the exhibition “Hilos y entramados”: Collaborative design practices in Mexico and in “Sillas Mexicanas” held in the Franz Mayer Museum.

 

– – – – – –


Q & A 

random questions and deviant answers.

How did you get into this work?I have always loved stories, inventing things, and getting my hands stained with paint… I feel like a kindergarten child. 

What are your favourite things about your work?
I like that it is different everytime, and that I can propose new ways to see things. I would like to inspire others with my work. 


What do you do differently from the way you were taught? Why?
I like to do things in my own style, like cooking, where I usually substitute ingredients with the ones I have available. 


A three paragraph artist’s statement.
Experiment, and learn, and share. Develop projects that make people smile. 


What’s the most unexpected thing you’ve learned along the way?

That I love to learn things unexpectedly. 


What is the best piece of advice you have been given?
Travel often. 


What do you want to be remembered for?
For my sayings, my food, my adventures, and my stories… That’s what I remember of my grandmas, and I want to become one when I’m old.

If all jobs paid the same, what would you be doing?
Travelling.


What would you do if you knew you could not fail?

End violence and poverty. 


If you could call yourself five years ago and had 30 seconds, what would you say?
Take this almanac.

 

What has been your main motivation in life so far?
Improv and improve. 


What is your favorite memory?
Being in my grandma’s house, playing in the garden with my sis. 


What has been your biggest challenge?

Becoming an adult. 


What was your favorite subject in school?
Biology and Literature. In college, Typography. 


What embarrasses you?

Realizing that I could have done better. 


Who do you most admire in life?
My family is pretty awesome. 


What is a skill you’d like to learn and why?
Music, I think is a fantastic lenguaje… and to boardskating seems fun. 


How would your friends describe you?
I have no idea, I have never asked them.

Who are your top three lady heroes?
As a feminist, I admire all women who have trascended the status quo.


What is your favorite thing about your career?

That every project is different and makes me learn new things. 


What makes you laugh the most?

When my husband dubs the voices of the family dogs. 


Have you ever had a nickname? What is it?
Yes, lots of them. But each one has its own story and the answer would be to long. 


Do you collect anything?
Images and references. 


Does your family have a “motto” – spoken or unspoken?

Become better than we were yesterday. 


Who knows you the best?
My sister and my darling husband. 


Is there anything you wished would come back into fashion?
Swing dance!